Sarah Burke Trophy awarded to Gus Kenworthy and Devin Logan

Sarah Burke Trophy awarded to Gus Kenworthy and Devin Logan

AFP Press Release: (Whistler, BC)- The AFP is truly honored to announce Gus Kenworthy and Devin Logan as the first recipients of the Sarah Burke Trophy. The Sarah Burke Trophy is the most prestigious award in skiing, awarded to the male and female with the highest Overall World Ranking.  Competing in all disciplines of freeskiing is an incredible talent that Burke always possessed.

“I am honored to accept this award,” said Kenworthy. “Sarah’s legacy will never be forgotten. She did so much for the sport and she was so inspiring. I just feel really honored that this is named after her and that I can accept this award.”

Gus Kenworthy had 23 top five finishes this season.  He competed more than anyone and was rewarded in doing so.  This is Kenworthy’s second year in a row winning the title of Overall World Champion. 

Devin Logan also had an outstanding season, scoring in the top 5 in nearly every event she competed in. Unfortunately, Devin hurt her ankle during the Women’s Slopestyle at the AFP World Championships and was unable to compete in superpipe.

Upgrade Your Inbox

Don't waste time seeking out the best skiing content; we'll send it all right to you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *