Gus Kenworthy and Devin Logan Win AFP Overall Titles for 2010-11

Gus Kenworthy and Devin Logan Win AFP Overall Titles for 2010-11

Whistler, BC, Canada— April 24, 2011 — With the conclusion of the Superpipe competition at the AFP World Championships in Whistler, British Columbia, Canada, the AFP can formally recognize its champions for the 2010-11 competition season. With some of the races being an exciting race to the finish, this year saw incredible riding and the AFP can commend those who are due.


Overall Title Holders: Gus Kenworthy and Devin Logan

This season’s Men’s Overall Title is claimed by Telluride-local Gus Kenworthy. Kenworthy, who was in a hotly contested race with Simon Dumont, beat out the Dumont by a mere 58 points with his finish today. Kenworthy’s road to the overall title is a three-part story. Starting with Big Air, Kenworthy was a late addition to the X Games 15 Big Air where he took 9th place. In addition, Gus’ 11th place at the WSI Big Air this weekend gave him the boost he was looking for. In Slopestyle, Gus counted on his 8th place finish at Winter X Games 15 and his 3rd place finish at this weekend’s WSI slope. And for Superpipe, Gus’ 2nd place finish at the Killington stop of the Winter Dew Tour and his 12th place in today’s WSI Superpipe event.

“I can’t stop smiling,” Kenworthy was quoted after today’s ceremony.

Simon Dumont led the Overall race almost the entire year, banking on a 5th at the King of Style (BA), 8th at (BA), 1st at the Breckenridge stop of the Winter Dew Tour (HP), 3rd at Winter X Games 15 (HP), 7th place at Dumont Cup (SS) and a 9th place at WSI (SS). Third place overall belongs to Bobby Brown who used the following to finish a few hundred points back: 1st at Winter Dew Tour Killington (SS), 1st at WSI (SS), 2nd at Winter X Games 15 (BA), 1st at WSI (BA), 6th at the Volkl NZ Open (HP) and 41st at the Nike 6.0 Open Qualifier at Breckenridge (HP).


Top 3 Overall Men’s and Women’s Finishers (not pictured, Bobby Brown)

The Women’s Overall Title belongs to Ms. Devin Logan, who has led the race for the most of the season. She was really the only two-discipline threat that found success this season, with former two-time Overall champ Rosalind Groenewoud battling injury. Logan’s road to the Overall title starts with a pair of 2nd place finishes in the halfpipe, one at the Winter Dew Tour Snowbasin and the other coming this weekend at WSI. For Slopestyle, Logan’s 2nd place at the Winter Dew Tour Snowbasin and 4th place at the Winter Dew Tour Breckenridge were enough to give her the final prize.

Trailing Logan by 150-odd points is Keri Herman. Known as a Slopestyle specialist, Herman put her talents to use in the Halfpipe a couple times this year, taking 10th at Winter Dew Tour Breckenridge and 8th at Winter Dew Tour Snowbasin. On the Slopestyle end, Keri’s 2nd at Winter X 15 and 2nd at Winter X Europe were her prime point getting results. In third place, over 700 points back from Logan was Canada’s Dania Assaly. Despite suffering a season ending knee injury, Dania stockpiled enough results to get her through. 1st place at Winter Dew Tour Breck (HP), 5th place at the US Grand Prix (HP), 10th at Winter Dew Tour Breckenridge (SS) and 5th at the North Face Park and Pipe Open at Northstar were what she used in getting to 3rd place.


Men’s & Women’s Overall (L-R): Simon Dumont, Gus Kenworthy, Keri Herman, Devin Logan, Dania Assaly (Bobby Brown not pictured)

While the Overall Winners were the ones awarded here in Whistler, the following title holders and respective podiums are as follows:

Men’s Superpipe:
1. Kevin Rolland – 4,510 points
2. Justin Dorey – 4,141.13 points
3. Simon Dumont – 4,133.75 points



Women’s Superpipe:
1. Devin Logan – 4,084.40 points
2. Anais Caradeux – 3,964.91 points
3. Rosalind Groenewoud – 3,959.18 points



Men’s Slopestyle:
1. Bobby Brown – 4,297.37 points
2. Russ Henshaw – 4,034.21 points
3. Sammy Carlson – 3,963.84 points



Women’s Slopestyle:
1. Kaya Turski – 4,477.39 points
2. Keri Herman – 4,177.84 points
3. Ashley Battersby – 4,092.12 points



Men’s Big Air:
1. Elias Ambühl – 3,097.84 points
2. Henrik Harlaut – 2,989.35 points
3. Bobby Brown – 2,943.56 points


The AFP would like to congratulate not only the season end winners but all of the AFP contenders this year. For more information on the entire AFP rankings, visit the World Rankings Page.

*Note: Only the rider’s best five results are used in determining the individual point totals for Slopestyle and Halfpipe. For Big Air, the four best are combined to create the total. And in Overall Ranking, the best two results from each discipline (a total of six) are combined to create that score.



Upgrade Your Inbox

Don't waste time seeking out the best skiing content; we'll send it all right to you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Name *