Gallery: Top pros throw down in Whistler amid 2014 AFP awards banquet

Gallery: Top pros throw down in Whistler amid 2014 AFP awards banquet


Last Sunday, immediately following the conclusion of the AFP World Championships, otherwise known as the World Skiing Invitational, the annual AFP dinner/awards banquet was held at Whistler’s Bearfoot Bistro. On the docket: a scrumptious meal, the handing out of trophies to recognize the year-end points totals leaders, plus, libations aplenty. The occasion has grown to become a highlight of an always action-packed spring for the sport of freeskiing. With spirits already running high amid the World Ski and Snowboard Festival, the evening provides the sport’s top athletes with a chance to dress to impress, to dine in style, and to reflect on, and celebrate, the season gone by. Moreover, it’s a time to let loose among friends.

In brief summation: Following a cocktail hour, and then dinner, the 2013/14 AFP points leaders were recognized. One by one, the individuals were called to the head of the room where they received their snowflake-shaped trophies. If they so desired, they would have the opportunity to share a few words with the group.

Prizes were given to the top three male and female finishers for big air, slopestyle and halfpipe. Additionally, we enjoyed the presentation of the Sarah Burke Trophy, awarded to the man and woman who place first in the overall standings at the end of the season—that is to say, the individuals who accumulate the most points across all disciplines. The trophy this year goes to Gus Kenworthy (his fourth straight), and on the ladies’ side, Ms. Devin Logan. Logan was not present to receive the award, though Rory Bushfield, Jan Phelan and Trennon Paynter were on hand to present Gus with his hardware.

As is now custom, each of the attendees received one shot of vodka as the trophy was presented: a toast to Sarah.

With the awards handed out, it came time to eradicate the hefty bar tab, provided by Monster Energy. The Belvedere Room was a highlight of the night for many.

In time, we used up the allotted drinking dollars and made for Moe Joe’s. No fewer than five individuals missed their morning shuttle rides to YVR, and in turn, their flights. Myself included. The World Ski and Snowboard Festival wins again…

A healthy thanks goes out to the sponsors for making it all happen: Roxy, GoPro, Monster Energy, CrowdTorch, Target, Rockwell Watches and RESQWATER.

And the 2013/14 AFP winners are as follows:

2014 Men’s AFP Slopestyle Top 3

1. Nick Goepper (4,672.58 points)
2. Bobby Brown (4,482.65 points)
3. Gus Kenworthy (4,407.87 points)

2014 Women’s AFP Slopestyle Top 3

1. Dara Howell (4,457.24 points)
2. Devin Logan (4,422.40 points)
3. Maggie Voisin (4,299.74 points)

2014 Men’s AFP Halfpipe Top 3

1. Kevin Rolland (4,578.26 points)
2. Aaron Blunck (4,452.38 points)
3. David Wise (4,369.56 points)

2014 Women’s AFP Halfpipe Top 3

1. Maddie Bowman (4,773.07 points)
2. Brita Sigourney (4,455.37 points)
3. Angeli VanLaanen (4,342.99 points)

2014 AFP Big Air Top 3

1. Vincent Gagnier (3,434.70 points)
2. Jesper Tjäder (3,419.01 points)
3. PK Hunder (3,171.71 points)

2014 AFP Men’s Overall World Champion

Gus Kenworthy

2014 AFP Women’s Overall World Champion

Devin Logan

For a break-down of winners’ seasons, visit



Upgrade Your Inbox

Don't waste time seeking out the best skiing content; we'll send it all right to you.