Final matchups are set, vote now for 2013 Skier of the Year

Final matchups are set, vote now for 2013 Skier of the Year

508_SOTY_20121-300x236Through three rounds of voting, we’ve tallied more than 12,000 votes. The masses have spoken, and the final matchups are set. On the men’s side, we have Henrik Harlaut vs. Torin Yater-Wallace. For the ladies, Kaya Turski goes up against Maude Raymond.

Every vote counts—vote now in the finals.

About the SOTY contest:

The 2013 Skier of the Year is chosen by you, the FREESKIER faithful. Rather than allow the public to nominate skiers, however, we select the nominees, based on who we feel had the biggest impact on the sport in a given year. The selection process is never easy. Does one individual’s outstanding competition performance outweigh that other guy’s banger film segment? It’s a fiery debate, as staffers don’t always see eye to eye. Throughout the discussion, we contemplate all we have seen over the past 12 months; we reflect on film after film, edit after edit, contest results, magazine exposure, the proverbial extracurricular activities and more.

By the time we’re done, we’re confident our selections are fair and well-rounded—an accurate representation of the sport’s many facets. Having selected our 16 male and 8 female skiers, the next step is to create the brackets. To do this, we put all of the names in a box, shake well, and draw them out one by one. While this results in some ultra tough matchups—e.g. Sammy vs. Henrik in round 1 this year—the fact remains: each voter should theoretically know who they feel is the deserving winner from the get-go. Might as well get the hard part over with right off the bat, yes? To those who partake in the voting, we extend thanks. For those who have questions about the nominations and/or the voting process, we welcome your feedback in the comments section below.

#SOTY13 round 3 voting breakdown:

Matchup 1:
Henrik Harlaut (56%) defeats Tom Wallisch (44%)

Matchup 2:
Gus Kenworthy (44%) defeated by Torin Yater-Wallace (56%)

Matchup 3:
Kaya Turski (50%) defeats Kelly Sildaru (50%), by a margin of 14 votes

Matchup 4:
Maude Raymond (70%) defeats Maddie Bowman (30%)

Final round voting will be open through November 11. Cast your votes now.



Upgrade Your Inbox

Don't waste time seeking out the best skiing content; we'll send it all right to you.