2013 Swatch Skiers Cup set to go off in Zermatt, February 10-15

2013 Swatch Skiers Cup set to go off in Zermatt, February 10-15

The 2013 Swatch Skiers Cup is right around the corner, with action slated to begin on Sunday, February 10 in Zermatt, Switzerland. In its past two editions, the Swatch Skiers Cup was hosted in Valle Nevado, Chile. Team Europe topped Team Americas in 2011’s inaugural Cup, and one year later Team Americas battled back, tying the overall record at 1-1. The tie now waiting to be broken, the stage is set for an exciting backcountry-slopestyle-format contest.

This year, Team Americas will be represented by KC Deane, Rory Bushfield, Tim Dutton, Logan Imlach, Josh Daiek, Charley Ager and Greg Lindsey; the squad captained once again by Cody Townsend. Team Europe consists of Sverre Liliequist, Fabio Studer, Richard Permin, Markus Eder, Nico Vuignier, Sam Favret and Paddy Graham. Kaj Zackrisson returns as team captain.

Julien Regnier, master jump shaper, will judge the event along with Ben Murphy and Mike Rogge. Swatch pro rider Samuel Anthamatten will serve as the event’s head guide, responsible for managing safety and selecting venues.

“Even though I’ve done all these different kinds of skiing in my life, I see myself as one thing: a skier,” said Regnier. “When I judge I’m not thinking about criteria because I think that only limits progression and creativity. The thing I’m seeking is raw energy, and when it happens everyone who is watching knows it and feels it.”

Stay tuned as we’ll be bringing you coverage of the event as it unfolds.

Team Americas Presentation – Swatch Skiers Cup 2013

Team Europe Presentation – Swatch Skiers Cup 2013

[poll id=”2″]

Upgrade Your Inbox

Don't waste time seeking out the best skiing content; we'll send it all right to you.