Freeskier and Coors Throw AFP Awards Party

Freeskier and Coors Throw AFP Awards Party

With a plethora of athletes in town to compete in the first stop of this season’s Winter Dew Tour, the Association of Freeskiing Professionals decided it would be a good idea to crown the first official World Champions in an awards ceremony at the Gold Pan in Breckenridge last night.

Freeskier and Coors provided the party atmosphere with bottle service and an endless stream of Coors Light tall boys. Those who didn’t have to compete today threw down, while the athletes were there to collect their much-deserved awards, delivered by Voice Hero Luke Van Valin.

Pretty much every athlete was in attendance, including the AFP Champs Rosalind Groenewoud, Jen Hudak, Tanner Hall, Simon Dumont and Tom Wallisch. Congratulations to all the 08/09 AFP Champions! Here are the official AFP standings for the 2008/2009 season:

Overall Men
Simon Dumont

Overall Women
Rosalind Groenewoud

Big Air
1) PK Hunder
2) Jacob Wester
3) Russ Henshaw

Halfpipe Men
1) Tanner Hall
2) Justin Dorey
3) Simon Dumont

Slopestyle Men
1) Tom Wallisch
2) Henrik Harlaut
3) Sammy Carlson

Halfpipe Women
1) Jen Hudak
2) Sarah Burke
3) Rosalind Groenewoud

Slopestyle Women
1) Kaya Turski
2) Anna Segal
3) Keri Herman

Check out the photo gallery here, and keep checking back for continued Winter Dew Tour coverage.

Freeskier schwaged the local crowd hard with a huge box of goodies provided to us by our friends in the industry. Special thanks to Coors, Armada, Atomic, Hestra, Burgess Custom, Poor Boyz Productions, Nimbus and the guys over at Public Works (fine craftsman who made the AFP trophies) for the support in making a great party here in Breckenridge!


Upgrade Your Inbox

Don't waste time seeking out the best skiing content; we'll send it all right to you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *